5 Things You Should Do Right Before Your Wedding

Today’s post comes from experience.  Within 2 weeks of my wedding I was running around like a crazy person trying to tie up loose ends, get my ducks in a row, entertain guests, pack, clean, stuff envelopes, organize…you name it.  There are a few things that I wish I had prioritized to finish before those two weeks.  Here they are:

1. If you are going on a honeymoon, pack everything you can in advance. 

This sounds pretty obvious and straightforward, and it is.  I still needed to pack a few things the day after my wedding, but frankly I didn’t feel like it!  If I had packed everything I needed earlier, I wouldn’t have had to do anything but leave town to go on my honeymoon!

2. Do all of the laundry in your house.

I mean, like, empty your hamper and wash your sheets and towels and anything else that is dirty.  I had new clothes for my 0069_Courtney_and_NIck_Theo_Milo_Photohoneymoon, so when I got back…there was literally more laundry than I’ve ever seen in my house at once.  I had too much it was so hard to catch up!  It took me a good month to get through everything and put it away properly.  If I had all my “old” clothes washed and put away, it wouldn’t have been a problem!

3. Go on a date.

Because I was running around like crazy, we had very little time to spend together during one of the most exciting times of our lives.  It was all about getting the house clean, making travel plans, organizing, etc. and we didn’t get a chance to go on a special date, just the two of us.  Something I would definitely recommend!!

4. Ask someone to watch your house while you are away on your honeymoon.

My gracious business partners kept an eye on my house while I was gone and I was so thankful!  We had many gifts that I knew were on their way, which meant they would be sitting out on my front door step for days and days, open for any gift robbers prowling my neighborhood.  That freaked me out.  I didn’t want our gifts stolen and I also didn’t want creepers to know we were out of town.  I gave them a key to my house and they moved all of my gifts inside for me!

5. Ask for help.

This is the biggest one.  I should have asked for help because I really did need it.  It was hard to determine where or what I needed help with, but I could have used a couple of extra hands to help do things to get ready for the wedding.  That isn’t to say I didn’t have help throughout the process, but I am not usually one to ask for help and this time I definitely should have!

Happy planning!

Courtney

Leave a Reply

