Courtney’s Wedding: What’s Important

Greetings, loved ones!  This blog post isn’t as exciting as my colors, but about what is important to me and to Nick for our wedding.  This means what we spend the most money on.  With most brides we work with, we ask them the 3 most important things in their wedding and what they want to spend the majority of their budget on.  Responses vary, but a lot of people say music, food, and venue.  I would say those are definitely a great start!

Venue, Food & Beverage: Because I work so much in Wilmington, I wanted a venue that had some unique qualities and had a destination feeling.  It’s far enough away to feel like a destination, but close enough to easily get to that really sold us on Bald Head Island.  The Bald Head Island club has a great country club vibe without being stuffy and too traditional, it was just perfect!  In the same category, the Bald Head Island Club will be providing the food & beverage.  Nick really wants to have great food and a great liquor bar.  Don’t fear, Mr. Nick, Shauna at the Bald Head Island Club will be sure of it!!0013_Courtney_and_Nick_ESession_Theo_Milo_Photo

Photography & Videography: These are two things that are non-negotiables.  We really wanted to have great photography and a video for us to remember the day.  When it came down to it, we spent 1/5 of the budget on these two things alone–something not a lot of brides do.  I picked two vendors I really trust, Theo Milo Photography and Inkspot Crow Films.  I know they are going to knock it out of the park!

Florals, Paper & Details: As a wedding planner, I couldn’t imagine my wedding without beautiful flowers, fancy papers and purposeful details.  Nick doesn’t care so much about these, but it is important to me that the wedding be beautiful.  I cannot wait to see all of my hard work come together with the small details and paper, but most of all I am excited to see what Kim Fisher puts together for me!

Atmosphere: This is a given.  Without a great DJ, cool dance moves, and the right guests, weddings can be a dud.  Brian Hood is the man and I am more than confident in his abilities to get the party started and keep it going!

One big thing that costs nothing are our ceremony vows.  We have elected to write our vows together, so we recite the same lines, but we write them together.  I originally wanted to write our own vows, but Nick thought it might be better to write them together.  I am so excited to see the finished product, it’s going to be so personal and so us.  I plan to print our vows on a large print to hang them in our bedroom.  : )

Courtney Shaver

http://www.kickstandevents.com

info@kickstandevents.com

Leave a Reply

