Courtney’s Wedding: Getting Started & the Story

It goes without saying I have been slacking with blogging.  We’ve also taken a break from our Bouquet of the Month during wedding season, so…yikes.  Well, other than our lack of blogging, there has been other news!

In case you didn’t know, Courtney (me) is engaged!  My fiance, Nick, and I took a trip down to his parents’ vacation home in Kiawah Island, South Carolina, which is about 30 minutes south and east of Charleston.  It’s delightful there.  As soon as we arrived, we headed down to the beach, where I found “Will You Marry Me?” in white shells in the sand, turned to see Nick down on one knee and smiling adorably.  Naturally, I jumped up and down on the decking, clapping and screaming “oh my god oh my god oh…my…god” and could barely find the word “yes” in my vocabulary!  But, of course, I said yes!

So…as an wedding planner and designer based in Wilmington, North Carolina, I had some decisions to make.  

First on anyone’s list should be starting a guest list.  This is crucial–it will determine your budget, your venue, and lots of other details to your wedding.  It’s best to keep all of your wedding spreadsheets in one excel document, that way you can easily find your guest list, registry items, budget, vendors, contact info, etc.  Typically we tell clients you can spend anywhere from $100 per guest to $400 per guest for your wedding.  Knowing that, if you have $20,000 to spend and want to know how many guests you need to have to stay under budget, it’s simple math.  If you want to see my spreadsheet–just email me, I’d be happy to send you a copy!

Now that we’ve got the guest list…let’s move on to bigger and more fun things!  Until next time lovies!

-Courtney

http://www.kickstandevents.com

Leave a Reply

