Bang for Your Buck: DIY

Who doesn’t love a craft project?  I know I do.  It’s always fun to find something online or in a magazine that you can create for yourself at home or work.  I particularly like crafts that involve gardening or cooking.  One caveat to the DIY & craft projects (at least in my opinion) is large-scale projects for your wedding.  Websites like Pinterest have sparked many brides’ creativity, which is

fantastic that a new website like that can produce so much action from their readers.  However, sometimes it’s important to realize the logistics, actual cost effectiveness, and labor that is going to be required from those projects.

We’ve, like many designers, have had their fair share of clients wanting to design and craft their entire wedding.  I think small tasks, like invitations, favors, and even table numbers are a great way to add a personal touch to your wedding.  Other tasks, like sewing custom linens and/or napkins, building centerpiece vases, or attempting to decorate during your event should be left to the designer, planner, florist or even on-site coordinator you’ve hired.

Don’t get me wrong…I love that brides have taken it upon themselves to incorporate their vision and style into their weddings, but don’t bite off more than you can chew.  I know I have found myself working on another pinterest project that looked great in the step-by-step blog post, but mine ends up looking crafty.  It’s important to weigh the cost vs. time spent on a project.  If you can find something similar to rent online or locally for much cheaper, it is probably worth your while.  Or, if it will be cheaper but will end up taking you several hours, days, weeks, or even months…you might want to reconsider.  Sure, I can build a desk for myself for $12 but it’ll take up valuable time that I could be spending finding unique DIY touches for our clients.

I hope you’ll take this into consideration before taking on large DIY tasks for your wedding.  It’s not that we don’t like DIY-ers, we do…we encourage it!  We just want you to be aware of the task you are taking under before starting!

-Courtney Shaver

info@kickstandevents.com

http://www.kickstandevents.com

Leave a Reply

